Comedic Genius Robin Williams: Depression’s Newest Casualty

Robin 2

Robin Williams will always be remembered as the comic genius with a heart of gold.

This past Monday, August 11th 2014 we all learned of his passing by suicide and were shocked and stunned as Robin always made people laugh and wondered how someone who was such a smart, caring philanthropist and a comedic genius could do something like this to himself, but little did we know he suffered terribly from the “Silent Killer”,

depression.

As someone who has had to deal with major depression for years, I too have worn the mask of happiness to hide the pain.

Robin as Patch Adams

The truth is, depression is a mental health condition that affects the “happy hormone” Seratonin in your brain.
This causes feelings of unworthiness and brings out our “inner demons”, those voices we hear in our mind that we are not good enough or that we are helpless when in fact we are not.

I have been prescribed Sertraline, a medicine to keep my seratonin stabilized.

Depression is not something you should handle alone.

 I have for many years and after 30+ years of suffering I finally did something about it.

For years I thought I would just “snap out of it” but when you have a chemical imbalance like low seratonin you will need extra help in balancing out this crucial element.

Dylan Matthews wrote a very comprehensive article below about depression this past week that shows the statistics of how many people are affected by this affliction and that many suffer in silence:
http://www.vox.com/2014/8/12/5993075/depression-suicide-13-facts

This article by USA Today gives the National Suicide Prevention hotline phone number as well as talking about how Robin’s suicide brought awareness to many people as this hotline was flooded with calls this past monday.

DON’T SUFFER IN SILENCE: MAKE THE CALL

National Suicide Prevention Hotline: 1(800)275-TALK

Robin’s suicide is a wake-up call for all who suffer from this insidious disease.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2014/08/14/suicide-hotline-calls-surge/14053415/

DO NOT SELF-MEDICATE WITH ALCOHOL OR RECREATIONAL DRUGS.

Besides properly prescribed medication from a doctor you can meditate, go out in nature.

There is a natural supplement called L-Theanine which will help with anxiety, stress and depression.
Buddhist Monks have been taking this in tea form to calm their minds before long periods of meditation.

Most of all, keep in touch with the ones you love, this helps tremendously.

Try and do something a little different in your routine each day.

I take one day at a time as that is how I deal with the problems in my life.

My friend Singer-Songwriter Marci Geller wrote the blog below about her experiences with depression and also believes like I do that many creative people suffer from this affliction, too.
Marci talks in depth about the symptoms she experiences.  One of the symptoms we share is the feeling of being “weighted down” whenever we wish to accomplish things.

Great blogpost to understand the symptoms of depression:
http://marcigeller.wordpress.com/2014/08/14/robin-williams-a-great-loss-and-a-remarkable-revelation/

 REMEMBER, THERE ARE PEOPLE WHO LOVE YOU, THINK ABOUT THEM WHEN FEELING SUICIDAL.

My Husband Rev. David Marsh has lived many lifetimes in one, he’s been through divorce, homelessness and faced dire poverty, suffered with depression and PTSD from his traumatic combat experiences from  being in army campaigns for many years and like Robin Williams, tried to self- medicate with alcohol and tabacco to the point of almost killing himself.

The only thing that kept him alive was the thought of disappointing his mother.

She is his shining light.

She is his Rock of Gibraltar.

David told me about this experience and that he wanted me to write a song about how the thought of his mother kept him alive.

He gave me the song title:  By A Thread
I will post this song when it is finished, but for now here are the words.
They came to me along with the melody within 10 minutes.

I am posting the words to this song as food for thought for those considering suicide:

By a Thread

By

David N. Marsh

Susan M. Sabella-Marsh

©2014

Just when I was giving up

A vision of you came to mind

Giving me strength and courage

That I had long left behind

Thought my life was over

You gave me another chance

To begin another day

Thanks isn’t enough for me to say

 

You had me hanging by a thread

You kept me holdin’ on

I could still see your bright light

Hearing you say keep on keepin’ on

This is only temporary

You’ll make a brand new start

You had me hanging by a thread

Attached to my heart

 

My life wasn’t very kind

And You knew that oh so well

I knew you kept on praying for me

While I was going through so much Hell

Somehow those prayers reached me

Because I lived to tell

 

You had me hanging by a thread

You kept me holdin’ on

I could still see your bright light

Hearing you say keep on keepin’ on

This is only temporary

You’ll make a brand new start

You had me hanging by a thread

Attached to my heart

 You had faith and believed in me

That made my life worth living

I want you to see

You had me hanging by a thread

You kept me holdin’ on

I could still see your bright light

Hearing you say keep on keepin on

This is only temporary

You’ll make a brand new start

You had me hanging by a thread

Attached to my heart

I sincerely hope all who suffer from depression seek help from a counselor, friends and family.

I’d like to remember Robin Williams for his humor, kindness and generosity.

 I don’t believe he died in vain as now more people are aware of how devastating and insidious depression can be and maybe, just maybe will seek the help they need.

A month ago I finally made the choice not to hide behind my “happy mask” anymore and seek the help I needed.
Depression is still a challenge, however I am now even more aware since Robin’s death the importance of seeking help for the silent killer depression is.

Many Blessings,

“Rev. Sue”

I

Leave a comment